Gluten-free and gluten-reduced beer: A functional dietitian’s review

 

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Today brings many culinary traditions, with beer being a central favorite.  Unfortunately, for those of us striving to maintain a gluten free diet, festive beer drinking may seem off limits.  Well I’m here to make your day!

With the incidence of celiac and non-celiac gluten sensitivity on the rise, the brewery industry is working to meet demand.  At the GABF (Great American Beer Festival), hosted every year in Denver, Colorado a category of “gluten free beers” was first entered into competition in 2007 with only 8 entries.

This past year, there were 20 beers entered into this category.  So, the amount of gluten-free beer options is growing (yay!), but there is an important distinction to keep in mind.

A true gluten-free beer is one produced using gluten-free grains like sorghum, rice, corn, and millet; fruit is often added to the mix.

There is another method of producing “gluten reduced” beer where barley grain is still used as a main ingredient, but an enzyme (Brewers Clarex, from Dutch company DSM) is added before fermentation and serves to help break the gluten protein into smaller peptide fragments that can be digested readily.

gluten-free-beer-wars1

This enzyme is actually derived from Aspergillus niger, which is a species of black mold that tends to grow in-between layers of onions!  Using this enzyme will effectively reduce the gluten content of a beer below 20 ppm, without influencing the flavor, so naturally, this is the preferred option for many brewers and beer connoisseurs.

Labeling is a little tricky, and the science is still controversial.  Because they are barley based, gluten-reduced beers do not meet FDA standards to carry the certified gluten free label. However they do meet international gluten free standards of gluten protein < 20 ppb and can carry the designation “crafted to remove gluten”.

See the list below of some of the top gluten free beers on the market today

Finally, remember that the Vibrant Wellness Wheat Zoomer is the only test on the market that can help differentiate gluten sensitivity from wheat sensitivity. If your tests reveal only positive antibodies to the non-gluten wheat proteins, then many regular barley-based beers may be okay for you.

 

New Planet Brewery: Boulder, CO

 

Blonde Ale

Pale Ale

Raspberry Ale

Certified Gluten Free

Brewed from Sorghum and rice

Dogfish Head Brewery, Tweason’ale Certified Gluten Free

Brewed from sorghum, molasses, and pitted fruit

Anheuser Busch, Redbridge Certified Gluten Free

Sorghum base

New Belgium Brewery: Fort Collins, CO Glutiny Pale Ale

Glutiny Golden Ale

Gluten Reduced
Omission Lager

Pale Ale

IPA

Gluten Reduced
Stone Brewing, California

Stone Delicious IPA

Gluten Reduced
Harvester: Portland, OR Pale Ale

Dark Ale

IPA No.5

Olallie

Entire Brewery is Certified Gluten Free

Brewed from chestnuts, GF oats, and tapioca

 

–Cat Simmons, MS RD

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s